Welcome & Reconciling Team

WHO WE ARE

We are an official team of the NE MN Synod made up of Rostered and lay persons who are members of the LGBTQ+ community and allies. We are passionate about calling more PROCLAIM candidates in our synod.

WHAT WE DO

We partner with congregation councils and call committees to understand the blessings that come with calling a PROCLAIM candidate. We help clarify misinterpreted scripture regarding LGBTQ+ people. We also discuss with congregation members how to welcome and love our LGBTQ+ family members and neighbors and include them in all aspects of church life.

How to Invite Us to Partner with Your Congregation and When:

We find it most helpful when we begin a partnership at the beginning of your call process, but we can meet with your congregation members anytime before or after you have called a new Rostered Minister. Contact us through the synod office at (218) 724-4424.

Reconciling in Christ (RIC) Synod — Info Sessions

To discover if the Northeastern Minnesota Synod is ready to make the commitment to become a RIC Synod, the Welcome and Reconciling ministry team will hold a quarterly gatherings in each of the five conferences of our synod. These gatherings will include discussion, education, and resourcing around a topic.

Becoming RIC Synod Fall 2023 Info Sessions

First Forums — What Welcome Means

Sunday, September 10                2:30 PM at Messiah – Mountain Iron

Thursday, September 28            6:30 PM at Grace – Sandstone

Saturday, October 14                   Info Session as part of the Walking Together event

Saturday, November 11               10 AM at Salem – Hermantown

Monday, December 4                  6:30 PM at Faith – Isle

Second Forums — Lenses for Interpreting the Bible

Saturday, December 2                 2:00 PM at Jessie Lake LC in Talmoon

Saturday, January 20                  10:00 AM at Gloria Dei, Duluth

Sunday, January 21                     3:00 PM at First LC, Hinckley

Sunday, February 25                   2:00 PM at Trinity LC, Cook

Saturday, March 9                       10:30 AM at First Lutheran, Little Falls

Third Forums — Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity Terminology

Saturday, March 2                       10:30 AM at Zion Lutheran in Cloquet

Saturday, March 23                     10:30 AM at Bethany Lutheran in Onamia

Sunday, April 21                            2:00 PM at Our Savior’s Lutheran in Virginia

Thursday, May 16                          5:30 PM at Our Savior’s Lutheran in Duluth

 

LINKS

Proclaim

Extraordinary Lutheran Ministries

Reconciling in Christ

(RIC) ReconcilingWorks

Glossary of Terms

Human Rights Campaign

Resources

LGBTQIA+ Community-ELCA